BREAKING:Harsha Bhogle names 15 member Indian squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

BREAKING: Harsha Bhogle names 15 member Indian squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The much awaited ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 is only four months away and cricket experts across the globe have been coming up with their valuable opinions for the showpiece event. 

Teams from around the world have been trying their best to finalize their best squads for the tournament and India have been no exception to that. Meanwhile, cricket commentator and journalist Harsha Bhogle has named his 15 member squad for the tournament scheduled to kick start from May 30.

Harsha has gone for Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan in the opening slots and KL Rahul as the reserve opening option. He however mentioned that Rahul was a border line selection and things could definitely change over the course of the last few months. 

Harsha has stuck to Ambati Rayudu in the number four slot despite the latter’s inconsistent performances in the limited overs fixtures against Australia and New Zealand.

 The 57 year old has picked up Dinesh Karthik ahead of Rishabh Pant as the back up wicketkeeping option for MS Dhoni. Harsha however went on to describe that the youngster still had a really good chance to make it to the squad on the basis of his performance in the home series against Australia. In the pace bowling department, Harsha has gone for Bhubaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami as the front three seamers.

The veteran believes that Shami has certainly sealed his place in the World Cup ahead of left arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed, who came into the spotlight courtesy of his impressive performances in the Asia Cup and the home series against West Indies in October. 

Shami fared exceptionally well in the recently concluded ODI series against Australia, picking up wickets with the new ball as well as in the middle overs. The 28 year old is currently in New Zealand, winning the man of the match award twice in three outings helping India clinch the series for the first time in New Zealand in 10 years.

Harsha has retained the wrist spinning duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzuvendra Chahal as the frontline spinners in the squad and Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja as the all rounders. He even went on to mention that Jadeja should be included only as a backup option for Pandya given his batting prowess and fielding abilities.

Harsha Bhogle’s India squad for World Cup 2019: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.

Post a Comment


  1. I think Dinesh Karthik is a good choice instead of Rishabh Pant but let's see what comes out.